top of page

Concerto for Ferrofluid and 7 String Violin

Excerpt From The Performance

Concerto for Ferrofluid and 7 String Violin is a duet between a 7-String Violin and a novel instrument, in which sound is transferred from the medium of air to the magnetic field, visible through magnetic fluid that responds in real-time. The Ferro-instrument has no sound of its own — rather, it captures the voice of whatever voice is played into it and allows one to freeze the voice in time and change it using magnets to alter the quality of sound. The 7 String violin will be performed by Yuval Gur and the Ferro-instrument performed by Joseph Ntaimo in a composition by Yuval Gur.


The Score

bottom of page